Under section 18.2-250 of Code of Virginia, the possession of a controlled substance in Prince William Virginia is explained in detail. An individual who knows that possession of a controlled substance in Prince William Virginia is illegal, and still, he possesses such substance can be classified as substances mentioned in Schedule II and I. Moreover, such a person is considered as guilty of felony Class 5. The punishment provided for possession of a controlled substance in Prince William Virginia is quite severe.
An individual who is convicted of any aforementioned possession may get the punishment of up to 1 year to 10 years in jail. Moreover, it completely depends on the court or jury’s discretion whether punishment should be exceeded or reduced from case to case. In many cases, the involvement of a person in possession of a controlled substance in Prince William Virginia is not quite significantly noticed. Keeping in view such a point, the punishment provided starts from one year in jail or a fine not exceeding $2,500. However, in many cases court decides that defendant should pay the fine as well as be kept in prison for the decided time.
In addition, there are mandates provided in under Virginia law for possession of a controlled substance in Prince William Virginia. For example, the driving privileges’ suspension for any individual convicted of such statute is important to mandate provided under the Code of Virginia. However, an individual may or may not be eligible for a driving license, which is restricted. This will allow the respective person to drive to and from medical appointments, church, work, and school.
If any person is convicted of a possession of a controlled substance in Prince William Virginia for the second time, it is necessary that such a person should be aware of section 18.2-251 of Virginia Code in which punishment provided in previous conviction is provided. Moreover, the court’s discretion that received a dismissal and deferred disposition of the charge upon court-ordered conditions’ completion of probation. The statute needs that a person seeking a deferred disposition for the dismissal must undergo a substance abuse assessment. In addition, such a person should pay all the fines and court fees along with the costs that are linked with the enrollment in a substance abuse program that is approved.
During the probationary period, a person should withhold from alcohol and drug use, and such a person should be considered subject to the alcohol screening and random drug to make sure compliance is there. If a person having possession of a controlled substance in Prince William Virginia is convicted in a case, the Virginia Code requires that person to complete total 24 hours of community service. In case of failure to do so, it may result in an imposition of penalties aforementioned and finding of guilt.
The probation conditions’ proper completion of the program that is provided for offenders, the possession charge of the person’s dismissal may be noticed as a result. The offense is considered a conviction for the offenses that are drug-related. In addition, if a person has received a charge of possession of marijuana’s dismissal under the Virginia Code, it may lead to committing another offense under the second statute. This is particularly done for the purposes of sentencing and adjudication.